On 1st July Norwich Writers’ Circle held its Prize-Giving Evening & AGM.

The well-attended meeting celebrates Circle members’ successes in our various in-house competitions held throughout the year.

During the evening Anne Funnell – kindly standing in for our President Elizabeth Bencze – presented Vice-Chairman Sean Hindle with The Cooper Prize, which was adjudicated byAlison Bruce earlier this year.

Sadly, our other main competitionwinner, Sally Newton, was unable to attend.

This night also included our AGM where members decided to increase our door fee to £4.00 per meeting. Our membership fee, however, will remain the same for the year ahead.

After hearing the committee members’ individual reports, it was announced that Gill Blanchard would be sponsoring a non-fiction cup, which will be named in honour of her business – Past Search. More details to follow soon, along with news of our forthcoming Short Story Competition.

It was also announced during the evening that Anastasia Pope will now be continuing as Competition Secretary, and as committee member, with the assistance of another member.

Following his recent decision to step down from the committee, to thank him for his efforts in promoting NWC over the last couple of years, our Webmaster James Dimelow was rewarded with a surprise box of chocolates by Chairman Adrian Dearnley.

The evening finished with a fundraising raffle, which was was enjoyed by everyone present.

For an exclusive gallery from our AGM & Prize-Giving Evening please visit our Facebook page.

NWC next meet on September 16th, following our Summer break.

Details of our forthcoming programme will be announced soon.

We look forward to seeing you later on in the year.


Comments are closed.

  • Follow us to receive notifications of new posts via e-mail.

    Join 1,484 other followers

%d bloggers like this: